Why do I blog?

Why do I blog?

blog2.jpg


I am passionate about writing. Although it took me a while to write for myself, I wrote for others. I realized that sharing knowledge is one of the best ways to acquire more knowledge I explained that here. I love to write down things I have read or learned. It is also one of the ways I express myself and my ideas, asides from the fact that documenting makes me monitor my growth.


I blog so that beginners in tech can have it easy. The more I blog, the more I am motivated to read and research more so I can pass the correct information. There is a high number of self-taught techies these days because there are many readily available tutorials in various fields online. Blogging has also made it easy for me to carve a niche for myself. When I started my career in data science, I read a lot of articles on different tech blogs that broke down complex topics, and this made my journey easy. Blogging is also a way for me to pay it forward. The more I shared, the more I knew. I also volunteer as a mentor at She Code Africa for the same reason.

"If you don't have time to read, you don't have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that."  - Stephen King

I also blog so I can expand my network. Blogging is a way of connecting with different people from different parts of the world who share the same interests. I have had the opportunity of meeting with senior data scientists, developers, experts in various fields, and the tech blogging community. I have learned so much from them. Writing gives me more confidence. Getting feedback when I wrote for others was a big motivation for me whenever I struggled with imposter syndrome. Sometimes, I think about how many posts are out there writing the same thing I write or about to write. I ask myself, will my writing make any difference? I write anyway. Knowledge and information can never be too much. Anytime I feel demotivated, asides from talking to people, I go through my writings to see how far I have come and how much I have grown. This exercise has been helpful.

You want to start blogging, but you don't know how to begin? I will say start anyway. You do not have to be the best writer to blog. Don't overthink it. Would you be able to answer the question, Why do you blog?